Lacy Cake Blanket

Free Crochet Blanket Pattern

Something was pulling me to make a Chunky Lacy look in a Blanket. And this Yarn attracted me to try.

lacy cake blanket-001

When starting the creating process of a Crochet Pattern, you have to be open to change, which leads me to say that I started off doing a lot more chains than intended but instead of starting again, I began making the first row of the pattern and when I arrived at the width I desired, I removed the chains that I didn’t need. That’s the beauty of Crochet, knowing you can tweak it without undoing all your good work.

lacy cake blanket.-002

The Yarn I originally used was Heirloom Chimera, which is a 10ply Yarn that is 80% Acrylic, 20% Wool.

Then I found a lovely alternative called Fiddlesticks Cake Yarn, exactly the same colours, blend and ply as Chimera, so ‘Cake’ is what we now stock in the shop.  It’s so yummy, as you can see!!

cakes display

Let’s get into the UK Version of the Pattern now…..

REQUIREMENTS:

You can make this Lacey Cake Blanket with;

~ 2 Balls of Cake, 90 x 125cm (Small) or

~ 3 Balls of Cake, 120cm x 145cm (Large).

~ 5.00mm Crochet Hook

UK STITCH ABBREVIATION:

ch – chain stitch,   tr – treble stitch,   dc – double crochet,   ch-sp – chain space

TO BEGIN:

Chain 120 (Small) or 150 (Large).

Row 1:  2tr in 4th ch, 2ch, 1dc in same ch, * miss 2ch, (2tr, 2ch, 1dc) in next ch. *  Repeat from * to * to last ch, 1 tr in last ch, turn.

Row 2:  3ch, * (2tr, 2ch, 1dc) in next 2ch-sp. *  Repeat from * to * to last 5ch-sp, 1 tr in 2nd ch from hook, turn.

Row 3:  3ch, * (2tr, 2ch, 1dc) in next 2ch-sp. *  Repeat from * to * to last 2ch-sp, 1 tr in top of end tr, turn.

Repeat Row 3 throughout the Blanket until Yarn is finished.

Sew in ends.

♥ The Blue Box Girls

Author: The Blue Box Girls

Deanne, Annette & Chris are the Girls behind The Blue Box brand who aim to inspire creativity in Knitting, Crochet, Quilting & Sewing. We have a Shop in Busselton, Western Australia where we spend our days making new samples and assisting our customers each day.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.